Saturday, August 15, 2015


Terms of Enlistment

by Marko Kloos
The year is 2108, and the North American Commonwealth has a population problum. For welfare rats like Andrew Grayson, there are only two ways out of the crime-ridden and filthy welfare tenements, where you're restricted to 2,000 calories of badly flavored soy every day. 

You can hope to win the lottery and draw a ticket on a colony ship settling off-world, or you can join the service. With the colony lottery a pipe dream, Andrew chooses to enlist in the armed forces for a shot at real food, a retirement bonus, and maybe a ticket off Earth.

But as he starts a career of supposed privilege, he soon learns that the good food and decent health care come at a steep price...and that the settled galaxy holds far greater dangers than military bureaucrats or the gangs that rule the slums. 

The debut novel from Marko Kloos, Terms of Enlistment is an entertaining  military SF in the tradition of Robert Heinlein, Joe Haldeman, and John Scalzi. 


No comments: